Manchester uni

H

Huw Groucutt

Thinking of going to manchester now, went on an open day and nice city etc. How far is it to get to caves?

bubba

Administrator
Manchester isn't that far from the Peak District but the journey can be a real pain because roads get extremely conjested on the Manchester side of the Snake Pass between Glossop and Hyde.

If you get a clear run it'd probably only be 45 minutes or something.

Manchester is probably much more vibrant than Sheffield but can also be quite gnarly in places.

Stu

as an glossop resident i can concur with bubba. avoid like the plague. from manchester centre the least troublesome way imho would be head for stockport and follow for buxton. disley can be a bit of a pain, but less than glossop, and it would take you straight to places like stoney, or matlock if you carried on the A6. i made manc centre to sheff centre in 1'30", it was wednesday night, so glossop was empty but i had to contend with football traffic and a quick stop to say hello to me mam!! and i wasnt driving fast, 4*4's can't....and we'd lost :cry:

Stu

even better. M6 to A65 junction. we did glossop to the motorway (which is about the same distqnce to travel from manc to motorway) then to ingleton in 1'15" and no real breakneck speeding, again 4*4 dont do speed. even tha aa route planner puts it at 1'24" and i find them pessimistic with the timings. imagine... the dales almost as quick as the peak!!!!!

H

Huw Groucutt

So Manc is quite good really then cos you can get to derbyshite and dales pretty easily.

Need to make my final choice of uni pretty soon, think its a choice between sheffield and manchester.

Stu

sheffield takes at least 2 hours to ingleton. imho it feels a long way for a day trip. manc to dales is easier on mind/soul for a one day trip.

Rachel

I live in Ingleton and have family in Manchester (Salford) - it's about an hour and 20 mins door to door.

Rachel

mudmonkey

Sheffield every time :D