Scurion Basic 700 LED upgrade

AlexR

:idea:10 ways to break your Scurion, number 6 will surprise you! :idea:

Crawling up the walls in lockdown? Need some excitement in your life? Got an old Scurion 700 basic and want more bang for you buck?

Then this is for you. Written like a manual, but don't come blaming me after you've plunged your soldering iron straight into the LED driver and knackered your light. I'm very new to electronics, having picked it up as a hobby in lockdown. Prior to messing with the Scurion I de- and then re-soldered some SMD (surface mount device) components from knackered PCBs to get a feel for it.
How easy it is to carry out the upgrade? Pretty relative, someone like Biff or Roy (Fellows) could do it before breakfast; I found it a bit daunting but fairly easy in the end.

Why bother

The original Basic (bought from Tony in 2013) is equipped with 2 Cree XP-G LEDs. Technology has moved on somewhat and the current equivalent is the XP-G3. If Rolf used the highest binned LED, which I assume, you're getting 348 lm at 1 A (148 lm/W). This is the current they appear to be supplied with in the highest mode.
XP-G3 LEDs are available for little cost even in their highest bin (S5, 5000K, not fussed about CRI), giving me 470 lm at 1 A (190 lm/W).
More lumen at a lower power consumption.
The XP-G3 could be driven harder without loosing much in terms of efficiency (1.5A would still be conservative with as good a heatsink as the Scurion provides), but this requires messing with the driver, i.e. more ability and knowledge than I have.
NB: You can't just go and take any old Cree or other LED, the XP-G3 works very well in this setup because it is dimensionally identical to its predecessor.
The "better" Scurions utilise XM-L emitters, an analogous upgrade can be carried out for those.

What you'll need

- The ability to hold a soldering iron the right way around