Maltby School Cave:

Rocknocker

All respect guys, but I am not a caver, and have no desire to be one.  I am a geoconservationist with the Sheffield Area Geology Trust, and we are conducting a review of the geological sites along the Permian Limestone in South Yorkshire.  A couple of our notifications are of cave sites in Maltby, School Cave and Maltby Wood (SE 522921 and 550918 are the GR I have.)

Can anyone help me with precise approach / locations / permission /access, so that I can describe and photograph the geological aspects ON THE SURFACE ?
All suggestions welcome.
Cheers.

I'm no expert on the area - but have blundered around failing to find entrances around Maltby in the dim and distant past.

The now, out of print, Northern Caves Vol. 1 lists

Maltby Wood Cave: NGR 549917 - N side of railway cutting, 30m E of bridge

Unfortunately there is no record of School Cave or any cave fitting the grid ref you quote. There are, however, several other sites in the vicinity. If no-one else with more local knowledge replies send me a direct message and I'll send you details of the sites listed in vol. 1 for that area.
Steve

RobinGriffiths

Hi,

Sheet is SK and not SE, but I assume that was just a typo.

The ukcaving wiki has:
School Cave as SK 53308 91452 https://ukcaving.com/wiki/index.php?title=School_Cave
Maltby Wood Cave as SK 549 917  https://ukcaving.com/wiki/index.php?title=Maltby_Wood_Cave  but is in railway cutting

List of Magnesian Limestone Caves  https://ukcaving.com/wiki/index.php?title=Yorkshire#South_Yorkshire

Jenny P

There are the three Herne Hill Caves in Maltby itself, which are listed in Caves of the Peak District.  Details re. location and access should be on the DCA website at www.thedca.org.uk.  However DCA is continuing to update details and grid references where these may not be accurate and is also after photos of entrances for the Derbyshire Cave Registry.