Otter box or Aquapac for my PDA

footleg

I've been using an Aquapak case for a couple of years with a PDA. Now drawing on the PDA too with no problems. I stick the whole thing (PDA in case) in a plastic tub with the DistoX and other bits and bobs to transport in the cave. The PDA does not slide around in the case because you can grip it in the case. And you can press the power button on the top of the PDA through the case too. I've not tried a hard case, but imagine some of this might not work so well with a hard case?

ianball11

If you can wait a few days Imight have one for sale, used but useable.

Without it to hand I cant say dimensions or anything but it was bought to hold a Pocket LooX 700 series pda from Fujitsu.

Ian B.

ianball11

It's an Otter Box 1900 series in Grey and Yellow with no add ons.

It's not new, there is a hole in the plastic flexible screen section where the power button is on our unit.  It seems to be in solid condition.

What's your address? I'll post it out to you.

Ian B.

DaveR

I have the Otterbox and generally it seems pretty good. I do find it slightly difficult to draw accurately though the screen cover. Strangely I find the stylus holder fine! I do find the rubber o-ring which retains the screen can come adrift. I recently had a leak coming through a sump. This is well beyond 'normal' use I accept. The box was in an Ortleib bag and went to a couple of metres depth, so no great pressure. The drybag leaked and when I surfaced the Otterbox screen had come adrift allowng water in. Guess they are good for 'dry' caving use (ie wet but not submerged) and are better than a plastic bag! I like the hand strap as it allows you to rotate the box onto the back of your hand to allow climbing etc. I have made a rigid plastic square which sits in the screen recess to protect it and stop you drawing lines or turning on the PDA whilst in a bag.
Hope this helps.
Dave

SamT

Hi Dave - cheers for that  (y).