Advice on equipment to take photos

craige

Hello, I am hoping to get some advice on starting taking photos underground. I'm relatively new to caving having come from a background in diving (which I still do). I've got a bit of camera equipment already:
1. a small casio exilim with a waterproof housing - I've used this a couple of times with some mediocre results. Just a point and shoot. It is a little bit bulky in the housing so not convenient to just put in the pocket.
2. my normal underwater setup which is a sony nex with a dome port and wide angle predominantly.
3. a dslr setup which i use for overground stuff.

So I'd like to start taking some photos on my trips and I am just looking for some advice on what to use and what people recommend?

My thoughts would be I wonder about a small camera to fit in the pocket but this would have to be waterproof etc - but am I going to get any decent results with this??

Or what about using my dslr setup - but presume I'll need to carry a tripod and think about lighting and this is going to be bulky so what do you do.

Any thoughts gratefully received - thanks.

Olaf

If I shepherd novices around, I'll take a small and robust, waterproof camera and live with the mediocre results.

If I know that I'm going somewhere special and won't annoy my fellow cavers by making them wait, I'll take more serious gear with me: a mirrorless camera and most importantly flashlights!

There is no middle ground in between, or if there is, I'm not aware of it.

And most of the time I have my small camera the problem is actually not so much the camera, but the lighting. You'll get reasonable good results even with a small camera if you cave with people who carry powerful lights around. Although these results might not be quite good enough to win you competitions.

ogofmole

You can get very good results with a simple point and shot camera. But you will need off camera flash. I use a Olympus TG-2 a Firefly 3 and a remote flashgun.

Duncan S