Disto Calibration Jig

maxf

I am new to cave surveying so this might not be useful what so ever...

Anyway this is what I have been using to make calibrating faster and easier

Its a wooden jig then can be rested in various orientations mimicking the invisible cube required for calibrations.

Lie it flat, stand it up or rest it against a tree for the diagonal shots.

I drilled holes in the wood then hammered in plastic rawl plugs so no metal was used in the construction.

The benefit I see from using this is constant heading and inclination for each shot, no wavering around trying to shoot the same point.

The laser doesn't shoot the same position each time as the reference point of the Disto isn't central to the rear of casing  but as I see it the heading of unit is determined by and invisible line drawn through the centre of the laser and out through the same point on the back of the case parallel to the sides of the instrument so lining the side of the unit up with the wood each time should work (This may be where im going wrong as I have as low as 0.8 so far...)

Here are the pics of it..

AxecVj

AebHht

zSX3rx

AbSx5G

Axec2q

AbSuRT

AQPRPX

zSNVwh

Link to album incase my photo posting doesnt work...

https://flic.kr/s/aHskkod62n

Is this a bad or good idea for Disto calibration ?

Good question. How are your error results?

Today I got an error of 0.34 and a max error of 1.05 by using a plastic square and a 2x6 in my back yard. I honestly have no idea whether that is good enough for most people.

11168920_1499972416965766_1571352309496189900_n.jpg

A couple things you might consider.

1) The laser actually doesn't matter. Just the orientation. You're using the body of the disto to align things, so you don't really need a stop for the laser beam?
2) I would drill some holes in the 2x4's so that you can reach your finger in and press the trigger button while the disto is face to one of the boards.