Getting started

EwanCameron

Hi all

I have been caving for about 7 years now and did my first try dive last night with the hope of getting the courses done to let me try some cave diving

Any help of advice would be amazing

I am based in Derbyshire

Yours
Ewan

Pitlamp

Contact the Cave Diving Group (Derbyshire Section). This is perhaps best done once you know how to dive but there's no reason you couldn't sit in on a meeting or two in the meantime just to get a feel for what it's all about.
Do lots of swimming and (if possible) snorkelling.
Learn basic diving skills at a sensible pace and don't miss anything out. (Be sure to learn each individual skill properly before moving on to the next.)
Do as much open water diving as possible - there is no substitute for hours in the water.
Examine your motives for diving in caves very carefully - this will help inform which direction you go in further down the line.
Don't try and progress too fast; sooner or later something will bite and you need to be able to deal with any issues (multiple issues?) confidently. Remember, the surface is not an option.
Read as much as possible about diving generally and also cave diving specifically.
Cave diving is not really something to dabble in - if you're going to do it then give it 100%. This makes it a lot safer.

Oh, and start saving up . . .

ah147

Diving's so awesomely complicated, even in open water, once you start extending bottoms times and confining the spaces and solo diving even more so.

I used to wreck dive a lot, not caves though, but I'm getting back into it currently. Next time you get yourself out on a Thursday (evening) ask me and I'll put you in contact with a proper club.

Pitlamp

Both have pros and cons.

I'm not involved with either and what follows may be slightly unfair (as it's not based on great experience of either) but many people would concur that PADI is quick (which may suit busy people) but won't necessarily give you great experience.