Newbie looking to try out caving

A

AJ

Hello,

I've recently been looking for a local caving group to talk to about trying out caving, however there don't seem to be any nearby!

I suppose this isn't a great surprise as I live in Northamptonshire, near the Warwickshire border and as far as I can tell, I'm just about as far away from any caves or mines that are accessible as you can get.  :cry:

Could anyone please recommend any clubs that perhaps wouldn't mind taking on an out of area newbie?

In all honestly I have no experience whatsoever with caving but the idea of exploring these underground places is fascinating to me and I want to learn. I may be a fair distance away but I don't mind traveling and can do so on most weekends (I work during the week).

I've read the FAQs and some guides on cave conservation and safety available on the wiki and on other sites but any other help or advice would be appreciated. I don't have much by way of the recommended equipment yet except old clothes, wellies, a good selection of torches and good stockpiles of spare batteries.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

AJ

paul

Don't worry about where you live, find a caving club with its own accommodation and you can stay there for the weekend near the caves. For example, my Peak-based club, the Orpheus Caving Club has a hut and we have members who live both in the Peak District but also in Essex, Warwickshire, London, etc. Many clubs are happy to take newbies caving and many also will have gear to borrow.

There are several such clubs in each of the major UK caving areas.

Have a look at the www.trycaving.co.uk website.

damian

The YSS are running a "Try Caving" event from our hut in the Yorkshire Dales on the last weekend in March. Have a look bottom right on this page for details.
See you then!

Lampwick