Another SRT WANTED!

BrynPhillips

Hi all,
        A bit of history, I've been caving for about 5 years with HSCC and now I'm 18 am allowed to go swinging on string so I'm looking to Purchase;

Petzl stop
Petzl Croll and/or Basic
Petzl Shunt
A couple of Pulleys.

If you have any of this forsale in not to shabby condition it would be going to a good home and I promise to make the best use out of it.

Being 18 I am a student so don't expect a response before half nine or so on any day!

Many thanks!

Bryn

Amy

You have to be over 18 there to rappel? (sorry ot...i'm just curious...we dont limit folks here!)

Les W

Amy, You have to be 18 to make legal decisions for yourself without parent or guardians consent.
I assume HSCC is a scout caving club so it is probable that minors (under 18s) were not permitted to do vertical ropes with the scouts...
In UK law, Bryn is now an adult and can make those decisions himself.

simonsays

Must be a local rule within that scout group and applicable to caving srt. Scouting really pushes adventure sports usually.
My own son did his first abseil with the cub scouts at the age of 8 but it was a long way from srt. Full body harness and a second rope as a lifeline/belay.

PaulW

In scouts abseiling is different from caving SRT

It is probably more a case of the caveleaders do not have the qualifications to teach SRT to scouts/under 18's

BrynPhillips

Good question, it's a matter of Safety. As an under 18 no matter how compitant I am someone has to be responsible for me within scouting. Therefore on all ladder/srt situations I would have to have a safety line on which with ladders is standard practise but with srt is too much hassle. With abseiling under 18's also have to have a safety line.