Passive smoking bats

gus horsley

I recently did a trip to ***** Mine and saw a bunch of a dozen or so guys changing out of their oversuits at the car park. Said hello, etc, then went underground. At a certain point there's normally a colony of greater horseshoe bats, except on this occasion there wasn't, only a dissipating cloud of cigarette smoke. It seemed a bit of a coincidence that this was the only place that I could see and smell fag smoke and the only place the bats are usually found. I didn't see any bats on that trip although counts of 50 plus are regular. There wasn't much I could do except fume (pardon the pun).

I've been exploring caves and mines for over 40 years and in this time I've noticed what I think is a different attitude towards mine and cave conservation, possibly because one environment is natural and the other artificial.

Peter Burgess

A colony of Greater Horsehoe bats of that size found round here would get the place instantly gated and access removed for ever. Has anyone ever promoted the gating of this mine? On the basis of what you have written, some people would advocate having access severely restricted at least during the winter months. Has the weather warmed up much around the time of the trip? It's getting close to wakey wakey time for bats.

gus horsley