Makita Drill - The Last Time I Dug In Goyden

Kevlar

Our housemate George had a day off work so I persuaded him to join us this week for his first digging session with the Black Sheep on the proviso he only had to do surface digging. We picked Vicky up from work and drove out to meet with other seasoned diggers Chris, Alex and Ralf.

The first task was help out on the newly re-opened Howgill Pot (one of many Howgills knocking around, this one is a stream on the way to Thrope Pot) which was known to be a source for water entering Thrope Pot. The vague plan was to use this water to power the water blaster in the dig Thrope Pot dig which I had been helping push for many months. The Howgill entrance was reopened a week previous during a very productive session and we were tasked with moving cobbles from the riverbed back into the cave (an unusual task - akin to taking coals to Newcastle!) to fill a rift and make a traverse to a dig face easier. Once Chris was satisfied the traverse was easier we split into groups. George dug at the end of the traverse destroying a muddy face dropping his spoil down the rift. Alex and Ralf climbed down the rift to explore from the bottom.