Cave Sediment Studies

G

Geog Student

Hi I am an undergraduate geography student at University College London, and i am looking to carry out my dissertation research on a cave in the Peak District. I  intend to study an active cave where sediment has accumulated, annually, layer-on-layer in a cave over at least the last 100 years. I was wondering if anyone knew of a site where this is occurring, I will be carrying out chemical analysis on the sediment so it has to have annual resolution (i.e. the layers are not disturbed or mixed, so 100 years ago is at the bottom and the sediment has built up annual to present). Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Rob

I would have thought the finding and proving of such a site would be enough of a project for an undergraduate, unless of course it has been specifically studied already. If so, a literature review should give you examples.

If you haven't already done so, here would be a good place to start looking: http://bcra.org.uk/pub/sci-index.html

Cave_Troll

most of the sites i can think of are either fossil (of unknown age) or active. so the layers may be churned up or only 10 years old, or distorted by digging spoil etc.

Rob

A mine that became disused 100 year sago may work, however i presume you're after natural cave sediment?

martinr

Geog Student said:
Hi I am an undergraduate geography student at University College London, and i am looking to carry out my dissertation research on a cave in the Peak District. I intend to study an active cave where sediment has accumulated, annually, layer-on-layer in a cave over at least the last 100 years. I was wondering if anyone knew of a site where this is occurring, I will be carrying out chemical analysis on the sediment so it has to have annual resolution (i.e. the layers are not disturbed or mixed, so 100 years ago is at the bottom and the sediment has built up annual to present). Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.