Newbie with a squeeze question

A

Ash1955

Hi, I guess I am a newbie since caving has not been a regular part of my life and most of the caves I have been in are basically tourist caves though I have encountered a few nameless wild caves. This has been in Western Australia and South East Asia.

It?s the caves and their formations  that  fascinate me and I have never done any SRT or technical caving.

Most of these have been walk, stoop or crawl with a couple with passages involving squeezes

I?m going on an adventure caving trip next week as a replacement for a teacher and have suddenly realised I have become broader over the years than my out-of-date mental self-image.

I?ve also been told that there are a couple of short but tight sections and am looking for advice on squeeze techniques. A teacher was stuck on one the previous year.

My practice in the past has been elbow and knee/toe crawling or lying on my back and wriggling through head first.

I?m sure there are smarter techniques but I haven?t been able to locate them on the net.

Can anyone direct me to a site or offer any advice?

Thanks

Ash

cap n chris

Welcome to the forum, Ash1955!

If you are indeed going on an adventure caving trip as a teacher's replacement, is it fair to presume that the trip is being led by a caving organisation, also presumably with some kind of qualified leader? ... if so then worry not since the caving leader will be able to instantly gauge (from sight, and based on their experience of other people doing the same obstacle) whether you will physically fit; suitable psychological reassurance, if required, should also be provided by the leader.

Also, the caving trip will be run according to the NGB philosophy of no-one being forced* to do anything they do not wish to do (other than returning to daylight, of course!). [*Although there may be a fair bit of psychological coercion to do stuff at which you might first baulk].