Lycopodium Spores

Jopo

Can anyone point me to a small supply of Lycopodium spores and nets please. Project planned for S. Wales in August

Jopo

mudman

Jopo said:
Can anyone point me to a small supply of Lycopodium spores and nets please. Project planned for S. Wales in August

Jopo

In another thread Graigwen said this
Might be worth dropping him a message to find out more.

Jopo

Graigwen said:
Baldwins do sell them, but as a health food.

I don't write from experience, but would be very worried by the possibility of contamination if using Lycopodium spores for tracing. The spores have evolved to get everywhere and I would guess you need separate teams to deploy and recover them.

https://www.baldwins.co.uk/baldwins-lycopodium-club-moss-powder-lycopodium-clavatum

I'm no expert but have seen spore testing done and helped collect the nets.

The spores used for dye testing can be dyed a variety of colours to differentiate them from those naturally occurring. 
It is a well tried and tested method where fine mesh nets are placed in strategic spots in or out of the cave or sink/resurgence under investigation. Lots has been written about lycopodium testing and one of the upsides is that you can use different colours to investigate different routes. On the downside the nets have to be collected at intervals if a through put is required and cross contamination has to be taken into account. And of course you need a good magnifier or microscope to check the nets.

Jopo

JoW

From what I can recall from the last dye tracing workshop I attended I was under the impression that dyes are more commonly used now as they offer more reliable results - fluorescein, optical brightener and a red one who's name is temporarily eluding me.

Is there a particular reason to use lycopodium over dye?

Minion

Rhodamine B?

Does anyone have a link to a guide on how to do it?