What should be brought out?

Simon Wilson

Can anything left in a cave be considered to be an artifact? On what grounds could that happen? Does age alone make something an artifact?

rhychydwr1

As a biologist I would be reluctant to remove any organic material as it might contain cave animals.

Simon Wilson

rhychydwr1 said:
As a biologist I would be reluctant to remove any organic material as it might contain cave animals.

So if there is an old abandoned caver's bivouac with mouldy food remains, rotting woolen clothing, cotton/feather sleeping bags and canvas bags it should all be left as it is?

graham

Simon Wilson said:
rhychydwr1 said:

So if there is an old abandoned caver's bivouac with mouldy food remains, rotting woolen clothing, cotton/feather sleeping bags and canvas bags it should all be left as it is?

That point is rather more moot than you might think, Simon.

I can certainly think of an instance of a cave which was held to be rather polluted by farmyard waste was a short distance upstream of a a stream cave that held a noted population of cavernicoles. OK, maybe the stuff should not have been there in the first place but once it has had an influence on its surroundings, the effects of removal can be as profound as the effects of leaving it.

As with all questions of conservation, it depends what you want to achieve.

Simon Wilson

I don't understand how removing it can be anything other than beneficial but I know very little about cave biology. Someone would have to explain it.

Anyway, let me give a more specific question.

When we re-climbed into Lost Pot a few years ago we found an old battered helmet at the scene of Jim Newton's near-fatal accident. I found that interesting and left it just as it was. There are also other things discarded at the time of the rescue. Should they be removed?