UPDATE: LUSS (The making of)

mattamos

Due to the huge interest surrounding the resurrection of Lancaster University's club, and the herculean support we've received, it seems right to provide everyone with a progress report. To placate the powers that be, please remember all of these activities have so far taken place as an unofficial university group.

Trips
The group has been on several trips underground, including alum pot, bull pot, county pot, old ing, and others. Just last night three of us descended to the depths of alum pot down the north west route. The club has also enjoyed introducing complete novices to caving, often with the help of other clubs.

Admin
This is the slow part. We have been working with the students' union to formalise the club's official existence, and this will hopefully be complete in January. I'm excited by the numbers of students and staff at the University who share an enthusiasm for caving, and this is really promising for the future and the longevity of the club.

Thanks
We must include the large list of people and organisations who have helped us tremendously, both with gear, time and admin. I was blown away by the support we've received and hope that in a few years LUSS will be in a similar position to help and support others. Our thanks go to:
NUSS for SRT kits
CHECC for gear
Swaledale Mountain/Cave rescue for torches
York Uni Club for hosting an upcoming SRT training session. Especially Alistair for help with a recent trip
Rostam for invaluable help with admin
Jo White from BCRA
Leeds and Sheffield clubs for help, advice and support
SLUGS for gear
Red Rose for the loan of gear
Jack Overhill

It's so encouraging to see the excitement in the community for the re-existence of LUSS. I know we all at Lancaster are extremely excited about the future and will be keeping everyone updated in due course.

Cheers
Matt

Minion

Brilliant news! Well done!!!