knots for rigging

SamT

depends on your requirement for the knot - both are used commonly. You forgot the alpine butterfly which is also extremely useful.
I suggest you read some of the many caving techniques available.

see here
http://w01-0504.web.dircon.net/acatalog/Main_Menu_Techniques_75.html

8)

bubba

Administrator
And have a look through these:

http://www.cs-caving-association.com/Reports/Extracts_%20from_Tech_%20Pub_3.pdf

http://www.cavepage.magna.com.au/cave/SRTrig.html

http://www.cavepage.magna.com.au/cave/SRT.html

cavemancolumbus

sorry, should have asked it differently.
I have been rigging for a couple of years now and just wondered what the advantages and disadvantages of each family are?
ie. why use a douple fig of 8 on the blight as opposed to a doubled bowline on the blight?

bubba

Administrator
Sorry, it sounded like a beginner's question :oops:

I'm not sure - I always use fig 8's though used to use alpine butterflys as well.

I've always been under the impression that the choice between fig-8 and bowline was just down to personal preference but I'm not entirely sure about that.

SamT

alright - if were getting technical

http://www.draftlight.net/lifeonaline/

very indepth online (free) guide to rigging (with a rescue slant)

mudmonkey

It is all personal taste

I use fig 8, bowlines and butterflies, all in the 'single' (i.e. only 1 loop) versions.

Bowlines - easy to tie rope end straight onto things, and to get undone again. Need a stopper, but easy to adjust.

Fig 8 - easy to tie, hard to cock up, but sometimes a bit of a pig to untie after heavy loading, or to adjust.

Alpine butterfly - my fave. Easy to tie, untie and adjust. Have pretty well replaced 8's in my rigging as they seem to have no disadvantages if you know how to tie them.

IMHO (I know many disagree) don't bother with the faffy 'more than 1 loop' knots - they look pretty but guzzle rope and (I find) are tricky to adjust.

Brendan