Maskill/Maskhill

adam

Maskhill or Maskill - that is the question.

The two spellings seem to be used interchangeably almost everywhere I look, including the Peak District Caving Info guides and the UKCaving Wiki. I'm starting to think there's some sort of conspiracy afoot. It vexes me. I'm terribly vexed.

Can anyone shed some light on this? What does the survey say? Is the mine named after someone or something or is it a made-up word? What does the helpful direction sign on the Oxlow entrance say? What do the Derbyshire caving intelligentsia say?

Brains

TBH I have no definitive knowledge, but always felt it should have the "H" included. If the name has some antiquity it probably has a variety of spellings anyway. Perhaps Pwhole has seen some old maps or documents that help?

pwhole

From the Barmaster's book held in the Derbyshire Record Office (DRO B/L 31):

"Nicked 8 stowes on a vein called Maskhill belonging to Elias Rose of Castleton" (24/08/1790).

also

"Gave the ground to Robert Barber of Mam. He set 19 stowes on the vein." (13/09/1790).

8 meers and then 19 meers less than a month later has always intrigued me, as that's a vast horizontal measurement for the place, which is essentially all contained within one meer nowadays. It doesn't guarantee it was actually mined of course, but it least suggests that they felt the vein continued. The trouble is, it's likely the mines were worked well before that date, but no records survive, and these shreds apparently are the only clues remaining as to what went on. My suspicion is that both Oxlow (Rickety Mine) and Maskhill were probably relatively rich, easy mines for the first adventurers, as most of the vein cavity had already been washed out. So most of the galena would have been on the floor, possibly buried in sediments, or just lying around in lumps. After that, subsequent owners would have been just scratching around for bits.