Twll Clogfaen

WelshR

Hi, newbie here. Be kind 😃

Has anyone done this cave? If so, does anyone know where exactly it is near Cefn Coed, also does anyone have any information on the cave

Thanks

mikem

Not my trip (same report is on this forum):
http://blog.dudleycavingclub.org.uk/2015/06/twll-clogfaen-ogof-tee-caving-heaven.html?m=1

Huge

Hi WelshR. Twll Clogfaen is easy to find.

When you drive North up the A470 from the Heads of the Valleys road at Merthyr, the road rises at first. Just over the rise, you'll see a stone faced retaining wall on your left. Just beyond that is a turning on the left, just before the national park sign and a large sign for the Garwnant forestry centre. Turn in here, it's only about half a mile from the roundabout.  The road turns back on itself and you park immediately on the left, on a hard standing area. Opposite is a footpath following the stream up along a small, wooded valley. You'll also see a barrier surrounding a curvert taking the stream under the area where you're parked. Twll Clogfaen is just upstream of the culvert, on the left bank, looking upstream. It's about 20 seconds from the car! Remember to take a couple of adjustable spanners as the grill covering the entrance is secured with a Derbyshire key.