Free Diving

thehungrytroglobite

Helloooo darkness-dwellers,

I've never done a free dive before, however it is becoming more and more evident that I will need to if I want to do all of the caves that I want to do!! I was wondering if anyone had advice on how to start free diving, where is best for the first time, etc etc.

Thank you!
Anna x

Ian Ball

Enjoy it, I found the feeling of floating through the Rowten long duck and free dive exhilarating, loved it.

paul

Or Lake Sump in Peak Cavern, which has a short but dry alternative route if you son't fancy returning via the sump.

D.Send

Hi Folks,
Our group prepared to do the first free-diving round-trip in Swildons back in the early seventies.

We started by following the US Navy seal's diver's preparation instructions, and trained over one year to swim two lengths of the Plymouth swimming pool along the bottom on one breath.... (100 yards) so as to be sure to have plenty of spare capacity. This done, we started by free-diving sumps accompanied by divers who had checked them for any obstructions and laid ariadn?'s handlines for us. Finally we did the round trip perfectly at ease, then later the Rowten-Kingsdale sump etc. That is, if you free-dive, make sure you are properly trained beforehand...

D.Send.

Badlad

Administrator
Staff member
One of my early caving mentors, Charlie Povey, told me he trained for a Swildons 1, 2, 3 trip by crawling around under the furniture at home, from one wall to another, holding his breath.  This was much to the amusement of his wife.

A_Northerner

Lake Sump in Peak should be sumped now, it has airspace periodically but you can still treat it like a full free-dive in that case.

Go into Valley Entrance and do the first free-dive to Rowten (Usually 2m long, but again I've seen it low enough to be a duck)

Neither of those will need any lead, or even a mask.