Dave Checkley

langcliffe

It was with great sadness that I heard that Dave Checkley died last night, after a long illness. To lose both DC and Mel Gascoyne, two of the finest cavers to emerge from Lancaster University, in such a short space of time is tough.

Here is a picture of DC I took in February 1973 at Southampton Docks, when we were off for a six-month jolly to Venezuela.

dc.jpg

nickwilliams

I first met Dave when he was BCRA Foreign Secretary and I was organising expeditions to Belize in the mid 1980s. I was a novice at organising expeditions and he was fantastically helpful, enthusiastic and willing to give me the benefit of his huge experience. Later I was lucky enough to do some caving with him, including a memorable trip with him and Steve Foster down Black Shiver Pot which we bottomed and got back to the surface in under 3 hours. (Hell, I must have been fit in them days!)

To me, Dave was one of the greats of British caving, and I will miss him.

Love and condolences to Margot.

Nick.

Pitlamp

Here's Dave at the entrance to Midge Hole in the Dales a few years ago.

I'll miss him.

Attachments

• Midge_Main_ent1.jpg
    Midge_Main_ent1.jpg
    703.4 KB · Views: 277

langcliffe

Here's a photo of Dave taken by Jude when we were engineering a way through the choss in Stile Pot (next to Bar Pot). He doesn't look that happy...

dc1.jpg

scurve

This is very sad indeed.
I'll never forget the day I met this iconic figure from the caving world. After our day's caving he invited us back to his house for coffee and then gave me a bag of mangetout from his garden.
A wonderful man.

Ian Ball

Dave was supercool  :(

A great tale of surveying the unthinkable.

http://www.mulucaves.org/wordpress/articles/sarawak-chamber

JJ

Very sad indeed. Dave was a wonderful inspiration to myself, always extremely encouraging and helpful. Lots of happy memories.

My thoughts and wishes are very much with Margot

Pitlamp