susie-lee tyson

Hello, I live in St Anne's, lancashire, and am looking to join a caving group nearby.
I have no experience whatsoever other than stumbling upon a lovely little cave in Dent with my boyfriend which was amazing. I would love to get onto some courses,not just be given tours of caves. Any advice on where and how to start, what to buy? Any info appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

ALEXW

Have a look at the YSS website. (just google YSSUK).  They do try caving weekends in Yorkshire. (other clubs are available)
Don't buy anything yet borrow and try different suits lights welliies etc to see which you prefer.

damian

There are a number of clubs based in and around the Yorkshire Dales (your nearest caving area). The most important thing is that you see if caving is for you and then find a club that suits you. The YSS is one of your more local clubs and has plenty of experience of introducing newcomers to the sport, so may well do both of these for you. Good luck and let us know how you get on.

JasonC

Given where you are, Kendal Caving Club is not too far distant - see: http://kendalcaving.org.uk/node/48

Not that it really matters where the club you join is based - cavers have to come to the caves, not the other way round :)

We have a trip booked for Saturday 14th March which would suit the inexperienced.
I won't be going myself, but if you're interested, send me a Personal Message (icon like a speech bubble under my picture) and I'll ask someone to contact you

cap n chris

Hi Susie-Lee and welcome to the forum!  :)

If you are super-keen and just want to go caving pronto without running around visiting and checking out various clubs then you can always go caving on-demand on your own terms, whenever you like, at your convenience, with all equipment provided and professional tuition and leadership via an instructor. It will cost you more than ?1 so isn't something that normally appeals to some people.