dow cave; complete novice.

R

rob_

hello, my names rob, my friend and i are keen walkers and a few months ago we stumbled upon the entrance to dow cave, we ventured in as far as our walking gear would let us (which wasn't far) and then came back and agreed we'd have to return with some more appropriate gear, well Lidl are doing a nice range of angling gear at the moment,in amongst which are some waiders for a fiver! so we're a tenner poorer but looking forward to this weekend, so what do we need to know? how is it best to go about it, i have no desire to get hideously lost or to do anything stupid but we do want a bit of an adventure.
how far can you go before you have to start properly "caving" (neither of us are put off by a bit of scrambling).
from the maps i've seen the dow cave-Providence Pot route is a "T" rotated 90 deg left, i have no intention of attempting the Providence Pot section but can you carry straight on from dow cave past hobsons choice and emerge at the other end?

thanks in advance.

Rob

PS. what's a boulder choke?

B

BCMCXIV

Hi Rob,

Dow Cave's not a bad place to start for a first trip. Nice easy walking for most of it. As long as you don't get carried away then it should be fine. If you find you enjoy it then I'd highly recommend that you get in touch with a nearby caving club and learn the ropes with some proper supervision and access to some proper equipment: there aren't many caves as accessible as Dow.

Important things to bear in mind are:

1. Tell someone where you are going and get them to ring for the CRO (Cave Rescue Organisation) if you aren't accounted for by a certain set time. To get in touch with CRO you ring 999 and ask for Grassington police station.

2. Make sure that you have a decent source of light each, and a back up between you incase one of them fails.