Azimuth Technology for Cave Surveying

kdxn

Given the performance of the Disto D8, up to 200m range (to reflective tape) and +/-0.1degree inclination, the limiting factor for cave surveying would appear to be magnetic bearing accuracy.

I would be interested to know whether anyone has experimented with modern gyro north seeking technology and/or yaw sensors to determine absolute azimuth or the angle turned at a station between backsight and foresight.

Needs to be easy to use, small, low price(hopefully) and caveable.

Would appreciate any posts about experiments here and abroad.

graham

Experience with a DistoX would suggest that the current limiting factor with hand-held kit is the ability of the user to hold it steady.

TheBitterEnd

I have no recent experience but I did do some gyro mine surveying at college. Apart from the kit being reasonably heavy and fairly delicate, the issue was the length of time it took to take a reading. The gyro precesses and it is necessary to take readings over and hour or so (IIRC) to find the end points of the precession. Modern instruments may automate the reading process but I doubt anything can be done to reduce the time required.

That said, I guess it depends on the accuracy you are looking for. Again IIRC we were going for much better than one minute of arc (tens of seconds), it may be possible to operate quicker for lower accuracy.

I guess if you had a long and fairly straight passage somewhere in the cave you could put in a base line against which you could correct magnetic readings but I wouldn't have thought it was practical for lots of short sights.

I have very little cave surveying knowledge, but I would have thought that there were other techniques that would improve angular accuracy.

kdxn

The old style gyro technology such as the GAK1 which bolted onto a Wild optical theodolite has been used a lot historically for mine surveying.