Can somebody please decipher BCA + BCRA membership for me?

2xw

Hi

I'm a student, and a member of a student club. I will be getting membership through the club.

A student membership is ?8, fantastic.

I have an interest in cave science though, so I would like to join the bcra as well (as you now have to join the BCA beforehand) as a cim+.

This, according to the weirdly set out price matrix thing the BCA sent out to our secretary, is ?54 for paper copies of the journal, with digital access (which is free anyways isn't it?) this membership is apparently ?44

I've been to a few BCRA lectures, and lecturers have always mentioned that there aren't many students doing cave science - could a contributary factor be that it is about 6 times the price?

I do wonder why it is pricier than other academic organisations - Royal Society of Biology is ?15 as a student including their paper stuff.

Unless I have totally missed something and I am misrepresenting the issue, in which case why is this not clearer?

Why are there so many different payment categories - there are 36 different prices on the paper sent to us?

Can anybody shed some light - I would just like to give the BCRA some momey in return for a membership

2xw

Then why on earth would they send a club email attachments that list 36 different prices!

Also the link you posted says the price of membershiip is ?11.

But is it ?8, ?11, ?8+?11, ?44, ?54, what?

Les W

I would guess the price list is generic to meet all requirements, not just yours. To send out specific pricing to various groups would require BCA knowing what group you would fit in before you joined. They wouldn't have that information.

BCA is very aware that the pricing structure is very complex and are currently trying to improve it by reducing categories, however, it was always going to be, to some degree or other as there are so many different options.
Single, joint
Club, direct
student, child, adult