Things you've been mistaken for...

ZombieCake

I was asked in all honesty if I was 'with the press' at the weekend.  I took that as a compliment as was taking pics of an ancient local Christmas ritual involving local dignitaries and Morris dancers as part of a camera club thing.  Yes I did send them a link to pics.
(Actual press were also there by the way.)
Anyone been mistaken in a nice way for things they are not? 

Graigwen

I went to a Roy Lichtenstein exhibition at Tate Modern and four different people mistook me for a staff member. Two opened the conversation with the same words..."I can see you are an expert..."  I am not an expert, but was looking closely at the Ben-day dots in the paintings.

cap n chris

While at work, caving, routinely get pointed out and described by parents (to their doting offspring) "look, there's a [diver][climber][miner]" (insert option randomly).

The total lack of diving cylinders/CCR/regulator/mask/neoprene doesn't seem to get noticed.
And being at a cave obviously still makes me a miner.

I often tell them I'm over eighteen.

braveduck

On the Cornish costal footpath a few years back ,I was asked if I was the Archbishop ! The previous one Archbishop of Canterbury.
Last weekend at the Bunkhouse a little boy mistook me for Farther Christmas ! :)   

PeteHall

Having stripped off our filthy digging oversuits on the way out of Gough's the other week, five of us in red fury suits were probably mistaken for Santa's helpers as we passed through Santa's Grotto.  ;)

ttxela2

I don't see much point in paying to buy my own coats when I get them free at work, hence I am usually wearing a hi-viz jacket in the colder months. This often leads me to be mistaken for someone working.

We recently went to a pub for a meal and before I could get a word in the barmaid launched into a detailed description of where her car was parked, exactly what was wrong with it and how I could get my tow truck around the back to pick it up.