Makita Drill - My wild ride into the world of caving

Duncan S

18 months ago I was an overweight software engineer rarely leaving my desk.

My life utterly changed when I was introduced to caving....
Here are a few stories from my wild ride into the spelio world.

I've split it into two parts because UKC has a 20000 character posting limit and it seems I've exceeded it!

Duncan S

How I got into caving...
No one understands how I managed to live in Priddy for 10 years without going underground. When I was younger I used to enjoy mountaineering, especially Snowdonia, but a combination of partners who weren't into that sort of thing and disillusionment about how busy the mountains have become led me going less frequently.
However, I had become friends with the Home Close diggers and their lively banter over a few pints in the Queen Victoria had become my highlight of the week. Most of this group rarely go 'normal' caving and one day Sarah Payne offered to take them and their partners caving; would I like to join them! So with borrowed gear I headed underground and thoroughly enjoyed myself. Sarah organised a second trip the following week and before long she was regularly taking me underground. My initial trips hurt like crazy and took several days to recover, but I found my improving stamina let me reach Sump 1 and eventually Sump 2 in Swildons - I was getting there!
As my fitness improved other guides started to take me caving including Estelle Sandford and Mad Fi. Every week pushed my boundaries and it seemed like I was once again undertaking my 'toughest trip ever'.
Things eventually spiralled and I started caving at short notice with just about anyone I could persuade to tag along with. My record was nine consecutive days of caving with several stretches of 8 days consecutive caving. I lost 15kg and eventually my core strength returned to what it had been at the peak of my mountaineering days.