Caving Population

C

chris castle

I would like to hear the forum's views on the subject of the decline in the numbers of people caving. Is it a fact that fewer people cave than, say,10 years ago, or do fewer stay in club huts? It certainly seems that the number of young people coming into the sport has declined. Perhaps caving is perceived by many as "uncool" (as I believe the expression is), but I think the main reason is the legal difficulties, or fear of them, that prevents caving clubs from recruiting under 18s.
Chris

SamT

Hmmm - Ive been caving seriously for about the last 2 years, I did quite a bit in scouts (giants bagshawe P8 GG Alum Gautries) and some off my own back at that time, but then we went rock climbing :D and that was it, I spent my mis-spent youth climbing. It wasnt untill 10 years later that I bumped into an old school friend (antony revell) in a peak pub and went caving again.

Now at this time I was feeling pretty pissed off with the whole climbing scene - Crags were too busy - full of tossers from london dangerously top roping V diffs. Every time I went out I cringed, Crags being dessimated by the over popularity and glamourisation of the sport in the media. You dont see many car adverts with cavers on do you. :x The scene I was involved with had all but evaporated into a haze of kids jobs and mortgages. :roll:

Then through tony, i met a good bunch of lads, and started going caving, This was more like it, sound people with a passion for what they were doing, and doing it cause they were good and adept at doing it, not because they'd seen some hollywood film and thought "oh that looks cool Ill become a caver then"