What is your interest in digging?

Keris82

To those who go on digs...Are you qualified in archaeology or geology? Do you work in that field or is it just an interest in discovery? Just curious. I've always wanted to study archaeology but never got round to it and ended up in office work instead!  :coffee:

mch

Personally, it is mostly the discovery element that motivates me. However, as I dig in mines from time to time, there is also an element of industrial archaeology. On a wider issue, it's never too late to take up archaeology. I was always interested in the subject and after I retired I studied archaeology at the University of Sheffield - thoroughly enjoyed it.

braveduck

My interest these days is supplying buckets and nets to many of the UK
diggers , must be good ,keep being asked for more . I believe I may
have made coming up to  one thousand buckets . ;)

Clive G

Keris82 said:
To those who go on digs...Are you qualified in archaeology or geology? Do you work in that field or is it just an interest in discovery? Just curious. I've always wanted to study archaeology but never got round to it and ended up in office work instead!  :coffee:

To cavers interested in cave science it would be an anathema to 'explore' caves without including an element of cave science in their work, whether it be carrying out measurements, plans and sections of the passages found, allied with a photographic and written record, or doing more involved hydrological, geomorphological, biological or archaeological studies. However, many caves in the UK have been sealed off through land, rock and sediment movements during the various ice ages and therefore contain relatively few deposits of archaeological interest, unlike caves in, say, France.