Great Douk Cave in the Yorkshire Dales/Chapel-le-Dale

W

WildMontyPythonMan

As an absolute beginner, is this cave suitable.  Is it hard to find from Chapel-le-Dale?  Is the basic equipment all you need?  Am teaching myself map reading and compass skills for trip, what skills will be needed?  Thanks in advance. (What about rain and flooding?)

D

Downer

WildMontyPythonMan said:
As an absolute beginner, is this cave suitable.  Is it hard to find from Chapel-le-Dale?  Is the basic equipment all you need?  Am teaching myself map reading and compass skills for trip, what skills will be needed?  Thanks in advance. (What about rain and flooding?)

As usual I would give fuddy-duddy nannyish advice, i.e. don't go caving alone and do let someone know where you are.

If this is the cave I think it is then it's ridiculously easy. My notes say it's an easy underground stroll, splashing about in a tiny river. It just gets lower and lower until you're crawling flat-out in the stream. You can turn round as soon as it gets too miserable. If anything I would say it's not a beginner's cave as it's just too easy and you don't get to experience any of the obstacles that make caving so interesting. Mind you, the crawl is a bit less fun in the spring when the river is melted snow at 0.000001 degrees. Don't know about flooding, but at least there are one or two holes to the surface en route to expedite an emergency exit. I hope this is the cave you mean or I'll have egg on my face again.

Geoff R

Done it once but did not find the exit !    Silly really.

Parking was easy - a nice footpath sign indicates the start of the walk up hill in a right hand direction.

A very easy pleasant beginners cave or for someone looking for a gentle trip under ground after a long drive to Yorkshire. A wet streamway walk all the way up (and back ?)