Starting Caving!!!!

D

DISCODAVE

Hi,

I'm looking to join a caving club and after some ideas for which club to join.. I'm after an active club somewhere around the Wirral/ North Wales area.... Any suggestions...?  I'm a complete beginner but have some climbing experience.. so am looking for advice on SRT.  Wot kit do you need to join a club???

Thanks in advance,
Disco ;)

ChrisJC

The two obvious ones are:
North Wales Caving Club
Grosvenor Caving Club

But how active they are and what variety of places they visit I don't know.

Chris.

W

wormster

wot kit do you need:

a sense of humor and a good personality

Skyrmy

Black Rose Caving Club are an active club who don't go in for meetings and other club politics and hierachies.  Members are scattered across the northwest from Wigan to Barrow and over to Harrogate and Darlington.  We have a varied calendar of meets throughout the year.

Check us out
www.brcc.org.uk

ditzy 24//7

your best bet is to look up caving clubs around your area and have a word with them, generally you will need to get caving insurance to join.

ditzy

D

DISCODAVE

Like to think i've got a sense of humour-- it occasionally gets misplaced whilst dangling off long ropes. :D :  Personality???  :eek: All a bit subjective I suppose.  where do you get Caving Insurance from? How much?? Will it hurt?:spank:

Disco ;)

cap n chris

Caving insurance cover is a free benefit for anyone joining the British Caving Association (membership is ?18 per year, last time I checked), membership of which is normally a pre-requisite for joining a club (the club will sort out the paperwork for you, `cos they're mostly fluffy and nice). 

W

wormster

DISCODAVE said:
Like to think i've got a sense of humour-- it occasionally gets misplaced whilst dangling off long ropes. :D :  Personality???  :eek: All a bit subjective I suppose. 

Well you're half way there then matey!

D

DISCODAVE

Cheers all (y),