What am I missing??

Amy

I thought maybe someone here would know better...

ISSUE: So yes, I am jobhunting, as my lab is loosing funding end of Sept and I don't want to be stuck without a job. I'm not against hoping the pond, especially if it was temp for a few years or whatever.

DILEMMA: What the hell, UK? You ask if I have proof of right to work in the UK, of course, I do not. Everywhere seems to state that once I would get the offer, then company sponsors or whatever ya'all call it, I get one, bang. So why is every application being rejected because I don't have that piece of paper? So I go look on the country's immigration site for information. Thinking maybe it's just some sort of visa or somethingsomething I need to get first. Nope, I'm told I need to list the job in the application.

WHAT?

Yeah...so what am I missing? Or is this as catch22 as it seems? There are a few postings for assay development jobs I am *perfect* for. I have 4 yrs industry experience in assay design, they are asking for 2+ if possible. Ok that fits. They want a BSc or more. Yurp, I gotsta Masters of Science. So uh, basically I'm applying for jobs I surpass the minimum qualifications for and I reallllly miss the assay design work so I'd love to get back into it, but I keep getting dinged as I don't have this silly work permit thing.

o_O

Bob Smith

You should try it the other way way round! I have arrived in the States with work permits, sponsors names and addresses to work for one week, just to have some officious tw*t try and turn me round stating that he didn't have to to give a reason. Only after hours of negotiation and a quick call to my employer to point out that a whole collection of military aircraft would be grounded if I wasn't let in did the border problem get resolved!

kay