Amy's TAG weeklong cave ADVENTURE

Amy

Well hey folks! Some of ya'all wanted to know what US caving is like so HEY GUESS WHAT you have a US member on your forum who is currently in TAG for the week! So just like i did for the NSS forum posting updates on my trip there for the US peeps, I shall reverse it for you! I should warn, I am not an expert in how to write trip reports in fact I really don't know much about any rules for any "proper" way of doing it. However, that's ok, I think this will be better more storyesque anyway :) I will be posting very sporatically...you see here we don't have such a thing as club huts that have nice warm beds and kithens and even better, WIFI!! So probably I'll post a lot when I get home but oh well, I tried! Also I tend to post photos galore so watch for incoming of those.

day 1: I arrived at the Birmingham, Alabama airport (OH interjection - TAG = Tennessee Alabama Georgia as the corner areas of where those states all come together and surrounding areas is where the bulk of our caves are)  along with my friend Tenzin flying in from Albequrque, New Mexico, and was picked up by my friend David who lives in Atlanta. We dropped Tenzin off with some friends halfway between Birmingham and Atlanta and David and I continued on to Atlanta.

Day 2: David and I went by REI (outdoorsy store, has various gear for climbing, hiking, backpacking, kayaking, et etc etc) and I got some hiking boots that should drain water pretty well (here, we want our stuff to drain, and I have found my 5 fingers work great in wet caves, but not so much dry) Also I got more 5finger socks including RAINBOW :D which made me really excited.