Author Topic: New lap top - can't use smilies??  (Read 1215 times)

Online Pegasus

  • NCC
  • Administrator
  • forum hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1770
New lap top - can't use smilies??
« on: May 08, 2016, 07:41:34 pm »
New lap top has arrived and now when posting on UKC I can't use smilies or bold/italics etc etc.

Any suggestions as to why please?  Use small words, am a luddite, thanks, Pegasus

Offline Wayland Smith

  • menacing presence
  • **
  • Posts: 234
Re: New lap top - can't use smilies??
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2016, 07:57:13 pm »
Are you defaulting to "quick reply?"
Do Smileys work on other forums?

Online Pegasus

  • NCC
  • Administrator
  • forum hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1770
Re: New lap top - can't use smilies??
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2016, 08:05:24 pm »
I can use smilies on facebook and if I am defaulting to quick reply - I don't know how I'm doing it!  I'm just clicking 'reply'.

Blummin technology....

Offline Goydenman

  • Black Sheep Digger
  • junky
  • ****
  • Posts: 836
Re: New lap top - can't use smilies??
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2016, 08:45:27 pm »
changed my desktop and have windows edge browser does not let me use smiles on Uk caving but ok if use Chrome...don't know if that helps

Offline Pete K

  • Pete Knight
  • forum hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1243
  • Peak Instruction, DCMC, DCA, PICA, ACI, DCRO
    • Peak Instruction
Re: New lap top - can't use smilies??
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2016, 08:57:56 pm »
Windows Edge does seem to be the issue. I use BushcraftUK forum too and can't even type a reply without changing to Chrome or old Internet Explorer.
I don't post smileys really so don't know if they work or not, here goes...


Nope, nothing. Must be Edge.
If you look top right on the Edge top bar, the 3 dot logo, there is the option of opening a page in IE, even on Windows 10. That gets you round the problem but is not a great solution.

Online Pegasus

  • NCC
  • Administrator
  • forum hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1770
Re: New lap top - can't use smilies??
« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2016, 09:05:24 pm »
Thanks, Guys  :smartass: :smartass: :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Problem solved - am now on Google Chrome and smilies are back  ;D ;D

Offline droid

  • forum hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1838
  • WMRG
Re: New lap top - can't use smilies??
« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2016, 02:30:40 pm »
Just to confirm that windows edge doesn't like the smilies on here....
No longer 'Exceptionally antagonistic' 'Deliberately inflammatory'

Online Pegasus

  • NCC
  • Administrator
  • forum hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1770
Re: New lap top - can't use smilies??
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2016, 03:25:13 pm »
I might see what Q can do..... : 8)  used that one because the sun is shining, yey...

Offline Q

  • Administrator
  • Newbie
  • *****
  • Posts: 22
  • IT Support
Re: New lap top - can't use smilies??
« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2016, 03:38:52 pm »
Just checked the SMF site and this is a known issue that should (hopefully) be fixed in the next release. We'll plan an update to ukCaving as soon as this comes out.

http://www.simplemachines.org/community/index.php?topic=538707.0

In the meantime please use another browser (Chrome) if you want to add any extra formatting to your messages.

Thanks, Q