Author Topic: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm  (Read 1866 times)

Offline andywebman

  • regular
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • Red Rose CPC
Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« on: May 17, 2018, 06:04:15 pm »
As many will know we have got access to Internet via B4RN at Bullpot Farm. As a result of this we dropped our telephone BT contract for a cheaper version via Vonage, a company that support B4RN and provided us with a telephone line via the internet. We have a few problems with this and are looking for someone with telephone tech know how to help us solve these.
Firstly the emergency phone does not work any more as it will only work if the payphone is disconnected.
Secondly the payphone will only allow you to phone in and out from a landline not a mobile phone. If you can help us sort this with a visit to the Farm or know of someone who might volunteer their services please get back to me. Not sure I can answer loads of techy questions on here though!
RRCPC:-)

Offline rhychydwr1

  • forum hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 3218
  • Russian, the best
    • http://www.showcaves.com
Re: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2018, 07:50:02 pm »
I think I would go back to BT. :o

Offline nickwilliams

  • forum hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1440
Re: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2018, 09:17:11 pm »
Are you trying to use the old PSTN compatible phones connected to your LAN via an adapter supplied by Vonage? If so, part of your problem may be that the total REN ("Ringer Equivalence Number - in effect a measure of how much power a phone needs to drive it) is more than the Vonage adapter can support. You'd be better ditiching the Vonage adapter and connecting VoIP compatible phones direct to your LAN.
"Economics is simply the branch of sociology that deals with people trading items and the fact that they use more numbers does not make it anymore of a science."

Offline andywebman

  • regular
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • Red Rose CPC
Re: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« Reply #3 on: May 18, 2018, 09:24:02 am »
I think I would go back to BT. :o
Not really an option - too expensive.
RRCPC:-)

Offline andywebman

  • regular
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • Red Rose CPC
Re: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2018, 09:26:20 am »
Are you trying to use the old PSTN compatible phones connected to your LAN via an adapter supplied by Vonage? If so, part of your problem may be that the total REN ("Ringer Equivalence Number - in effect a measure of how much power a phone needs to drive it) is more than the Vonage adapter can support. You'd be better ditiching the Vonage adapter and connecting VoIP compatible phones direct to your LAN.
As i said, I am no expert so half of what you said went over the top of my head. However I think that would mean having to buy VoIP phones etc. We cannot afford that!
RRCPC:-)

Offline alastairgott

  • 2 weeks till September...
  • forum hero
  • *****
  • Posts: 1573
  • silvestre en los bosques
    • SILVESTRE
Re: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2018, 10:21:32 am »
I know a retired BT man is a caver, whether he'd be able to help I don't know. Maybe he's signed some agreement when he left the business.
 If he reads your plight (and can help) and PM/email's me, then I will pass on the message via email.

Offline Andyj23UK

  • menacing presence
  • **
  • Posts: 224
  • UCET , NBCC
Re: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2018, 06:08:01 pm »
surely - this is an issue for " vonage technical support "

with threats to drahg the oftcom omnbusman into the mire if they dont fix it on the grounds that :

supplied telephonic equipent - does not supply telephonic communications

Offline andywebman

  • regular
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • Red Rose CPC
Re: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2018, 08:03:56 pm »
Vonage only supply the line. You have to supply your own equipment. Also they now tell us that they do not support pay phones. This was not made clear when we signed up, however we did not ask if they did, just assumed that it would be OK.
RRCPC:-)

Offline Aubrey

  • forum star
  • ****
  • Posts: 517
  • Wessex, SWETCCC
Re: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« Reply #8 on: June 25, 2018, 07:53:22 pm »
Can we have an update on what has happened with the telephone system at Bullpot farm please?
Did you manage to get a payphone working on the broadband line?

make more cave - we have the technology!

Offline 2xw

  • obsessive maniac
  • ***
  • Posts: 479
  • Caving slag (but SUSS really)
Re: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« Reply #9 on: June 26, 2018, 08:35:17 am »
Does it have to be a pay phone?

Given its now over VoIP and covered, presumably, by what you pay to B4RN?

Just cos a VoIP phones are about £20

Offline andywebman

  • regular
  • *
  • Posts: 47
    • Red Rose CPC
Re: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2019, 10:45:28 am »
Does it have to be a pay phone?

Given its now over VoIP and covered, presumably, by what you pay to B4RN?

Just cos a VoIP phones are about £20

Yes the payphone issue is fixed but the Emergency phone outside is still an issue. Issue something to do with the REN and amount of power going out to the emergency phone.
RRCPC:-)

Offline d4nn3h

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« Reply #11 on: June 03, 2019, 11:36:51 am »
Does it have to be a pay phone?

Given its now over VoIP and covered, presumably, by what you pay to B4RN?

Just cos a VoIP phones are about £20

Yes the payphone issue is fixed but the Emergency phone outside is still an issue. Issue something to do with the REN and amount of power going out to the emergency phone.

Hi Andy - this does sound like it may be the case. How many 'traditional' land line phones do you have connected to the VOIP box/adapter (I presume this would be a 'Vonage box')? Are all phones, including the emergency phone on this line? Each phone connected should have a REN number, either printed on the phone somewhere or specified in the manuals that likely no longer exist. The total sum of each connected phone's REN has to be lower than the REN rating of the VOIP adapter. If you are using a 'Vonage box', there is conflicting information on the internet as whether the maximum connected REN is 3 or 5.

As above, the best way would be to change out the phones to VOIP, which isn't too expensive. However, if you did this, you would need to check with Vonage that you can have multiple phone devices logged into the same VOIP account at the same time (I am not familiar with Vonage so I don't know if they allow this, though other providers do).

Offline BarryW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Issues with phone at Bullpot Farm
« Reply #12 on: June 03, 2019, 03:49:56 pm »
I can confirm Vonage do not support pay phones. I have suggested to our caving club that they use Sipgate. For £9.95p/m all calls to UK landlines and UK mobiles are free allowing you to fit a voip phone on the wall for all to use removing the need for a pay phone. With Sipgate you have the ability to block all chargeable calls e.g. International, premium rate etc.

(I do not work for Sipgate.)

Barry