Author Topic: Near misses, epics and errors  (Read 9373 times)

Offline mudmonkey

• stalker
Near misses, epics and errors
« on: March 30, 2009, 10:48:59 pm »
A recent conversation in the pub led me to draw this up.

Over the years I have had more than one (!!) near miss. There are themes in near misses you hear about in the pub. So, below is a pile of the best ones. Hopefully there's something to be learned from them - if only  :o (NB - I have been caving for quite a few years and never yet had a call-out!) Slightly seriously, it's better to learn from someone else's cock-ups than your own  ;D (yup, all you lot, 'fess up, I'm not the only blunder-magnet in the club!)

Incident: Derig of cave with cavers still underground Swildon's
Team of 5 separated at Sump 1; team who visited Sump2 derigged cave. Muggins starts to derig whilst the rest of Sump2 team head out - but gets back to car first. All is not well. Run round top of cave to find rest of Sump 2 team - still not the rest of the other team. Hmmmm. Quick jolly undertaken to re-rig the 20'..... :-[
Good things - we worked out what had gone wrong, and corrected them, fairly quickly. The "casualties" are now married  :kiss2:
Learning point - if a team is to split, need very clear communication of each team's plans!

Incident: Hypothermia and SRT rescue - Oxlow
4 cavers, one new to SRT, one practicing rigging, one experienced but prone to getting cold.  Rigger, then me, then novice, then chilly caver. Surface very cold. Clear by bottom of third pitch that chilly caver was too cold and needed to get out. Sent cold caver up first - took so long with deviation that was necessary to follow up and assist. "casualty" was able to prussik up 2nd pitch with a small assist from above but required a haul for the top pitch. On surface casualty hardly able to walk; changed and supplied with tea at Oxlow House Farm