Caving Cottage electricity supply question

Peter Burgess

I have a simple question for anyone who manages a caving club cottage. We are in the process of having an electricity supply laid on, and we have to decide whether we want the meter located inside or outside. Inside would be simpler but there is the matter of having the meter read. I have no knowledge of what power companies will expect, but we obviously would prefer not to have to arrange to let someone in whenever a meter reader needed to see it. Is it possible nowadays for a supplier to accept, for example, a photo of a meter reading which we could provide at our convenience? Otherwise it might be simplest to have an external meter box.

Les W

Meters must be read at least once a year by the supplier, however they often are not as the suppliers representative always calls during working hours. Supply companies generally make estimates and you have the ability to correct the estimates with your own reading which can be done online or over the phone. Ultimately the supply companies are supposed to be fitting smart meters that don't need reading as they communicate down the power lines or via the internet and all the information is collected automatically...

I would suggest that you put the meter where it suits you and let the supply company sort it out.
Worst case is you might have to arrange for access at some point perhaps once a year, or less...

Les W

When a meter reader cannot gain access he will put a card through the door for you to fill in with your estimate. If you ignore the card they will make their own estimate, based on general usage of a similar property. This will normally be high!
You can then contact the company by website or phone to give them your reading.
If they really must gain access then they will have to jump through your hoops but it is unlikely to be more frequently than once a year and probably a lot less...

As an aside, why is it more difficult to have the meter outside?