Exploration and Conservation

big-palooka

So there's this thread about which rock hammer to use.......and another one about the damage inside giants hole .......and the one about preserving everything in the water icicle extensions  (yes, so I look to cave in Derbyshire)  (and all the others about conservation.......) ssoOOOO ........YOU'RE digging and you excavate under a calcite floor and the only way to break through...........is to break through.....the calcite floor...............what's effective?.....a car jack.............and this smashes through the calcite floor and discharges a reservoir of water that's been dammed for 20,000 years (or more - I am only a cave newbie).....(what scientific analysis could that be subjected to....?) but that's the only way to move on and progress the exploration.........

So....what's your views on the balance of exploration against  conservation here..............

pc

Rob

big-palooka said:
So....what's your views on the balance of exploration against  conservation here..............
At least subtly different to everyone else's...!

People will never agree, every situation is different, every person is different. Experience makes some people think they know, makes others know that they don't know.

graham

One has to do a cost/benefit analysis every time. Sometimes it's obvious - one way or the other - sometimes it needs more careful thought.

khakipuce

graham said:
One has to do a cost/benefit analysis every time. Sometimes it's obvious - one way or the other - sometimes it needs more careful thought.

But unlike above ground development it may be impossible to know the benefit without first incurring the "cost"

graham

khakipuce said:
graham said:

But unlike above ground development it may be impossible to know the benefit without first incurring the "cost"