• CSCC Newsletter - May 2024

Available now. Includes details of upcoming CSCC Annual General Meeting 10th May 2024

Click here for more info

Autonomous headlamp design enquiry

Floyd

Hi all,

I am an electrical engineering student currently undertaking a third year engineering design course. The project I am designing is an autonomous caving/mining headlight, detecting the environment?s ambient light to accordingly adjust the output light intensity and frequency. This will allow for hands-free operation, with the goals of saving power, increasing safety and convenience, as well as a more accurate colour reproduction of the dark environment. Some of the other features considered are the control characteristics of the light, type of light, weight distribution of the circuitry and a disable function to allow manual control of the light

At this stage I am trying to gather as much information as I can for the design. So far I am planning to use ~3 CREE XM-L/2 LEDs (possibly with multicolour LEDs), and simple optics with basic LDRs for light sensing. For the batteries, I will probably use 18650s or AAs, and a microcontroller to handle the logic of the dimming and colour variation. I am wondering if these are good choices; any feedback or ideas would be of great assistance. 

Cheers
Floyd

mrdetail

Another small idea, as this a uni project and so maybe can be a little more adventurous in your features, low power radio data exchange between lights. Could allow some interesting features. This could also include a radio beacon for search and rescue.

Floyd

As this is a design task, I am more so focusing on the innovative aspects which is the autonomous light dimming as well as the user defined colour reproduction. Petzl has a reactive lighting headlamp which uses a proximity sensor to flood the LEDs in open areas and narrow the beam for reading or close observing of cave features. I will have 3 LEDs in a row (spaced out) covering ~120 degrees.