Ambient temperature of British caves

A

andymorgan

What is the ambient temperature in British caves? If I recall it is around 11C. Is there a difference between north and south? The reason I ask this is because I am caving in Indiana, USA at the moment and the ambient temperature is 54F, so ~12C, but British caves feel much colder from what I remember.

ianball11

I always said 10 degrees without knowing where I discovered that fact.

Perhaps ten and twelve is the difference in Winter and Summer if you add in cave mouths to the average? Or is that what ambient means and it isn't just a music style.

Ian B.

SamT

When I worked as a guide at treak Cliff - we always told the punters it was 11degC (or 52 fahrenheit), but thats just what we where told to say by the guides that worked there before. I certainly never saw a thermometer down there.

Toby

I recall being told (how's that for an imprecise reference) that the cave temperature was the annual average surface temperature of the entrance - and in UK that was 6-8 degrees depending on where you were. As for how this fits into multi entrance caves  - I guess it starts to get a bit more complicated.

cap n chris

Clever 'n' lovely Gina is a cave weather scientistical and she'll be able to confirm or deny any rumours about temperatures; mostly they're around (IIRC) 11-12C in the UK if dry (i.e. non-stream systems) and without strong winds blowing through!

clunk

Not a cave, I know. But I once took a thermometer into Box. I got readings between 12 and 13 degrees centigrade.

Peter Burgess