Wellies?

• Yay

Votes: 40 90.9%
  • No Way

Votes: 4 9.1%

• Total voters
G

Global_S

I'm just curious as to how many people don't bother wearing wellies when caving. I'm still quite new to it all, but they strike me as bulky and heavy when filled with water. I tried wearing my kayaking boots when I went out last week, they kept my feet just as warm, although it was down a mine, so didn't get a chance to try climbing in them, but judging from using them on wet rocks above ground it looks promising.

6757.jpg

http://www.jackson-sports.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=6757

I quite like the look of the 5.10 Canyoneer, but at ?70, they are a bit on the pricey side.

canyoneers.jpg

What do other people use?

pete_the_caver

My wife didn't until recently. 

Reason one: No ankle support
Reason two: good quality solid well soled wellies were not made small enough, ie ladies and kids wellies are cr@p

But times change.  her feet grew during pregancy so suretreds now fit so she's giving them a try.

However, the main reason for wellies:  they last ten times as long for a fraction of the price... caves kill stiching faster than a beardy caver gets his first pint of ale down his neck.

But there is a problem; I've heard that suretreds are no longer being made without toecaps and no one seems to make decent wellies bigger than size 12 (this is also the case for plastic mountaineering boots)

caving_fox

Also not a wellie fan.

The best I've found is plastic industrial safety boots. They are only ankle high - less water to carry around, comfortable (you can even get them lined) rugged and robust, with good grip, and again relatively cheap while being long lasting. I have used old leather safety boots, which were very comfortable and free - but didn't last that long.

Wellies are definetly the cheapest option.

khakipuce