• BCA Finances

An informative discussion

Recently there was long thread about the BCA. I can now post possible answers to some of the questions, such as "Why is the BCA still raising membership prices when there is a significant amount still left in its coffers?"

Click here for more

Newbie Question on CNCC

ah147

So I'm still new to caving, every time I log on there's nearly always a new thread with something about the CNCC.

Essentially I understand they are a regional body, like the DCA are for us down here, to help negotiate access, conserve and try and keep people updated o what is going on.

But what have they done to cause all this controversy?

cavermark

If you really want to know - a search some of Badlad's posts will shed some light on the issues.  As you might see from the threads like CROW and access, politics around cave access generate a lot of controversy.

Cavematt

Hi ah147

Welcome to caving!

As Cavermark has said, there are several posts by several people (including Badlad) that put across their thoughts on what the problems are with the CNCC. My personal feeling (as explained in my election speech which will be attached to the AGM minutes) is that the CNCC does tremendously good work, but has simply become slightly disengaged with the caving community, and has not kept up to date with the changing expectations of northern (and national) cavers.

I think all the posts have been (as intended) an important wake-up call to the CNCC and one which will not be ignored.

I think it is important to remember that the posts on here may be personal opinions and it is sometimes difficult to say whether they represent the views of just the individual or a large number of cavers. Therefore, it's good to read all the information here, speak with fellow cavers, contact me or any of the CNCC officers/committee if you have any questions and to make your own judgements as you become more involved in the sport.