author with a question on carbide lamps

marethgriffith

Hello,

I'm an Alaska-bases author, doing some research on a steampunk book I'm writing that involves characters working with carbide lamps.

My question is - if you took a lit carbide lamp and threw it into a puddle had enough to (a) crack the lamp and (b) allow water to soak the carbide reservoir all at once - what would happen? It seems like the lamp has enough outlet valves that it wouldn't actually explode - just have huge flames shooting out of the tip and maybe all around the gasket?
And how long would a fairly full lamp in this configuration burn before all the calcium carbide was exhausted? Ten minutes? More?  Less?

Has anyone had this happen, or heard any stories of this happening? Or want to

Thanks in advance for your assistance!

Groundhog

Hi.
This is a very unlikely scenario. In 50 years of caving it has never happened to me either with the old brass Premier or in later years with an Arian generator. In our irresponsible youth we would often deliberately make carbide bombs but I can't remember how we did it.
The old Premier would sometimes leak from the seal but all that would happen was a few small flames before the lamp went out.
I was once in a tiny chamber half full of water when my carbide tin fell out of my pocket and the lid came off. The chamber immediately filled with acetylene but fortunately my lamp had gone out and I didn't try to relight it. God knows what would have happened if I had.
If you're curious just get some carbide and mess about with it. With care of course!

GoneCaving

The nearest I've seen was with the Stella carbide lamp in self-pressurising mode (gas used to pressurise the water reservoir). Get that one running too hot leads to a build up of pressure, some very impressive flames for a while, and then usually a loud pop as the ceramic jet in the headlamp gets fired off into the distance. Thankfully no explosions.

Wolfo

Once blew up one of my cave stuff drums.