Touching formations

Amy

Since this is a highly scientific group id thought id ask here:

We all hear that touching formations is bad. Yes!

However I am currious as to studies done on this. Obviously geting formations muddy ruins them. Obviously if a good stal is on a well traveled climbup route it will be worn down. Im talking thinggs like cleanboots worn in Lech to keep the formations pristine. A delicate touch of a clean bare hand. That stuff we dont inatly think will damage but its been pressed into our psyche that it does.

Is there any data or logitudnal study for such things? Is there a safest safe way when touch cannot be avoided? Is a brush of a bare hand really going to kill a formation (ive been told once skin oils touch a formation it will no longer grow....i cant find any data for this?)

Bottlebank

Seems a bit unlikely, I've seen enough mud layered with calcite to be fairly sure it keeps getting deposited. I'm no scientist though!

graham

Skin oils will not stop stal growth, but will certainly discolour it. There are plentiful examples of this in show caves the world over.

martinm

Amy said:
Since this is a highly scientific group id thought id ask here: We all hear that touching formations is bad. Yes!

However I am curious as to studies done on this. Obviously getting formations muddy ruins them. Obviously if a good stal is on a well travelled climb up route it will be worn down. Im talking things like clean boots worn in Lech to keep the formations pristine. A delicate touch of a clean bare hand. That stuff we don't innately think will damage but its been pressed into our psyche that it does.

Is there any data or longitudinal study for such things? Is there a safest safe way when touch cannot be avoided? Is a brush of a bare hand really going to kill a formation (I've been told once skin oils touch a formation it will no longer grow....i cant find any data for this?)