Understanding the dimensional space of caves

bjneil

First of all, sincere apologies to all if this question seems stupid or obvious- I'm not very good with physics!

How would you accurately describe the physical space within a cave (system)? as euclidean? or non-euclidean? Having seen crochet examples of euclidean plates (like this one http://www.theiff.org/images/lecture/crochet_09.jpg, my imagination stretches to analogise this with the descents and ascents of cave conduits, etc.

Thanks for any answers,
Ben.

Subpopulus Hibernia

Well, since we measure it, I'd consider it as Euclidean coordinate space, as all survey points can be plotted using the three coordinates X, Y, Z. That, at least, is how we describe it for the benefit of surveying. Likewise the actual passage dimensions could be expressed as a point cloud with each point with it's co-ordinates. Is this how the architecture of surveying programs is built?

I don't really understand enough of non-euclidean geometry to say whether or not one could express a cave in such terms. I imagine however it could be relevant in terms of correcting large cave systems on maps. Since maps are two dimensional representations of the (non-euclidean) elliptic shape of the earth's surface then perhaps caves that underlie a large surface area become ever so slightly distorted on maps as the influence the curvature of the earth has on the plan view of the cave is not taken into account. I can't imagine this would affect the survey very much though, or even at all.

Alkapton