Estimating flow rate from noise

jarvist

We're dusting off our plans to build some dataloggers for installation over a year in an alpine cave. It's easy enough to buy sensors to do temperature, pressure and humidity (though it might saturate), but one thing we've considered trying to do is estimate the flow rate of the cave by recording the level of noise due to water falling down a pitch.

Does anyone know of any work done to relate the dB of the white (or pink?) noise of a streamway to flow rates?

Muddy Funkster

I'm no scientist, but there's lots of reasons that noise would increase on one pitch when compared to another that are not exclusively to do with flow rate / volume of water. Passage morphology in the pitch. Accoustics created by the space. Roughness of rock surface in the pitch. Depth of water that the falling water lands in. etc...
It may be you can get some roughly approximate readings by doing something like this but the sheer number of variables in a natural environment like a cave pitch make it hard to fully trust in the results produced.
That being said I often do use ambient sound as a gauge of how wet an approaching crawl is going to be. On the last trip down Aggy's main stream, we sat by the second choke sign above the wet crawl and could not hear the water 10 feet below us. Normally it's very noticeable, and sure enough we didn't get all that wet going through. I would have thought that measuring flow rate based on sound level in a phreatic passage would yield more accurate results. As I said I'm not from a scientific background but it does seem that there are not as much entropy stuff going on when compared to falling water? What do others who know more about it think?
Matt

Bob Smith

I suppose you might be able to guess that for a particular pitch flow on day X was greater/lesser than day Y, but comparing different locations would be tricky.

Interesting thought though.

jarvist

Bob Smith said: