Car batteries and Water

Stupot

I am no mechanic so don't shout at me  :cautious:

Would anyone see any complications other than the weight and pysically carrying a car battery to a dig, such as
water as we would need to take it through 4 sumps.

Surely they must be waterproof, but at say -4 / -5m would they flood ?

BTW it's for driving a fan to extract CO2, so if there are any other ideals out there do tell  (y)

Cheers

Stu.

AndyF

The construction of car batteries varies a lot, and this affects suitability. Cheap ones have a plate construction, sloshing around in liquid acid. These are very vulnerable to drops & bashes bending the plates internally, or (worse) shorting them resultsing in exlosions...  Better ones have a gel elecrolyte, and more solid construction, and these are more robust.

A much simpler idea is to run cheap plastic sink pipe to your face, and run it into a box at the the other end, like an ammo box. Place a couple of buring night lights in it (with suitable holes), and let the convection do the work. It DOES work :)

You need a very small purge of air to keep a face workable from CO2, so no need to go over the top with fans etc. if you go electric.  Couple the size of PC Power supply fans will do the job fine.

Stupot

AndyF said:
A much simpler idea is to run cheap plastic sink pipe to your face, and run it into a box at the the other end, like an ammo box. Place a couple of buring night lights in it (with suitable holes), and let the convection do the work. It DOES work :)

To extract the CO2 ?

Apart from the expense, have thought about gel lead acid batteries which are smaller than car batteries? They can be moved in seal-tight food containers.
As I understand it, if the battery capacity (Ah) is about 10 times that the fan which the fan takes then it won't bugger shortened the battery's life.
BTW how are you going to recharge the car battery?

T

The Badger

AndyF said: