CNCC permit system

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

madjbs

dunc said:
31.   Short Drop
38.   Wretched Rabbit
These caves require a CNCC permit for access.

I have been caving extensively in these caves but I have yet to hear of a CNCC permit. What is it? Is it a permit that beginners must acquire in case they go missing or something? As I am not a beginner I have never tried to apply for one.

damian

madjbs said:
dunc said:
31.  Short Drop
38.  Wretched Rabbit

I have been caving extensively in these caves but I have yet to hear of a CNCC permit. What is it? Is it a permit that beginners must acquire in case they go missing or something? As I am not a beginner I have never tried to apply for one.

Permission to visit these caves is not freely given by the landowner. Instead they require that the CNCC (The Council of Northern Caving Clubs) issue permits to caving clubs according to strict rules, relating to dates and the number of parties per day. People do cave without these permits but If the landowners become aware of this, they are likely to withdraw all caving rights.

Please have a look at http://cncc.org.uk/ for more information. Short Drop is on Leck Fell and Wretched Rabbit is on Casterton Fell. All you have to do is write a letter on club-headed notepaper to the relevant volunteer Meets Secretary, enclosing a SAE.

M

madjbs

damian said:
madjbs said:
dunc said:
31.   Short Drop
38.   Wretched Rabbit

Permission to visit these caves is not freely given by the landowner. Instead they require that the CNCC (The Council of Northern Caving Clubs) issue permits to caving clubs according to strict rules, relating to dates and the number of parties per day. People do cave without these permits but If the landowners become aware of this, they are likely to withdraw all caving rights.