Elon Musk - April 1st.

Simon Wilson

A date has been set for a hearing and it's April 1st.

By then it will be Vernon Unsworth MBE vs Elon Musk, April fool. Obviously only an opinion not a statement of fact  :LOL:

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2018/dec/27/elon-musk-pedo-diver-vernon-unsworth-defamation-lawsuit-dismiss

suddenlywill_

Simon Wilson said:
A date has been set for a hearing and it's April 1st.

By then it will be Vernon Unsworth MBE vs Elon Musk, April fool. Obviously only an opinion not a statement of fact  :LOL:

https://www.theguardian.com/technology/2018/dec/27/elon-musk-pedo-diver-vernon-unsworth-defamation-lawsuit-dismiss

I'm honestly surprised that even Mr Musk would attempt to defeat accusations of slander and libel by saying that his comments were obviously not true. Isn't the first rule of winning a libel suit that you have to convince the court that the comments aren't.... you know, libelious?

ali_mac

I'm not a lawyer on either side of the pond, however I am of the understanding that you can say more-or-less anything you like under first amendment freedom of speech rights, and if it is clearly a falsehood then it becomes very difficult to then sue, as a libelous or slanderous claim relies on the premise that someone actually believed the story.
This is how the US "supermarket tabloids" operate, with covers like the one in the link:

https://i.redd.it/t6dlzbdyiwx11.jpg

Bob Smith

I not sure the first amendment freedom of speech could apply here; Elon musk was not saying anything that the US government would want to censor.

NewStuff

Bob Smith said:
I not sure the first amendment freedom of speech could apply here; Elon musk was not saying anything that the US government would want to censor.

This.