I.T

H

Huw Groucutt

why do so many cavers have jobs related to IT and computers?!

cap n chris

An analytical mind is helpful for finding your way around labyrinthine complexities; also, navigating in semi-dark, small, confined spaces until late at night, exploring different avenues and generally checking out what's around the next corner means it only stands to reason that you're going to make a pretty darn good caver `cos if you can cope with all that computing malarkey you're bound to be able to cope with the underworld!
:shock:

But, hey!, it's a good question... you know something? I've been using computers since 1980 (when you had to build your own). Here's a question - does anyone who's into caving NOT work in I.T?

H

Huw Groucutt

yeah but then its also a bit more physically demanding than sitting at a chair working on a computer all day!

And i don't work in IT.....nor do i have any plans to!

bubba

Administrator
I know loads of cavers who are not into I.T. - this board gives a slightly biased view I suppose.....

After a week at the Microsoft conference in Barcelona, I never want to see a fucking computer again in my life. I'd rather be doing something meaningful !!

underground

I got into IT completely by accident- the same as caving! I can't exactly say it was my childhood dream to be an analyst, but it gives me plenty of time to think about caving :p

An evening's digging is a complete antithesis to sitting at a desk all day though and it certainly blows away the cobwebs....

J

Jonathan T

You have to have a job related to computers to be able to waste so much time posting on bulliten boards. It's the same on the RockTalk boards and a car BBS I go on. I'm not in IT but I work at a PC, as soon as that stops I'll be rejoining normal life and spending more time climbing / caving / mtbing and less time surfing the internet!

cap n chris